RSS

Pars Pro Toto

21 Dec

It’s a metaphor once I learned in elementary school about mentioning a part of something that represents the whole thing.

When I was a little kid, it’s kind of hard for me to understand how a little part of something could make a full abstract of something. Then I learned day by day in my life how that metaphor works.

In example, when I smell a particular scent of someone, I can feel sleepy at the same time. Why? Because the scent reminds me of someone’s figure that I know can give me a comfortable feeling. Or when I hear a word “yawn”, I can suddenly do the yawn (like I do now) because I immediately imagine a face of someone yawning.

Then I realize, this metaphor also builds our common sense of something. Like, when someone mentions “apple” the first thing that might pop up in mind is Apple’s product by Steve Jobs, while actually it means the real red fruit called apple. Well, it’s just an example.

In a complex way, sometimes we even use this metaphor as an implicit statement. Commonly, we use it when we want to express our intention in a more polite way or give suppression.

Okay, enough with the intermezzo, gotta go back to my final project’s paper. Wish me luck🙂

 
2 Comments

Posted by on December 21, 2011 in Just Saying

 

2 responses to “Pars Pro Toto

  1. colson

    December 21, 2011 at 6:43 pm

    Nice entry about the wonders of metaphor ( did you by the way ever see the charming film “Il Postino” – http://www.culturecourt.com/F/Art/Postino.htm.Nice entry- which shows the fabulous working of poetic metaphors?).

    Anyhow: wish you lots of luck and success working on your paper.

    PS: Actually Jobs admired the “Fabulous Four” and borrowed the name “Apple” from the Beatles’ company Apple.

     
  2. deravn

    December 22, 2011 at 1:02 am

    Wow, nice info about the movie. I’ll find it soon and watch it. Thanks!😀

    And thanks for the luck, have a lot of things to do, fiuh~

     

Leave a Reply

 
