RSS

Daily Archives: January 5, 2013

Making Visa for Korea Trip

Happy new year!

This will be my first post for year 2013. 😀

By the end of this January, I will have my first trip for this year. I am planning to go to Korea, and a visa is required. I never had experienced making a visa before, so this is my first time. Therefore, I browsed on Google about how to make a Korean visa in Indonesia. There were several type of visa by its purpose and time. I looked up for the list and chose single visa for vacation and family visit (C-3-2). Then I checked the documents needed for my visa registration which were:

1. Visa request form (which I can download its PDF file from Korean Embassy’s site).

2. Portrait photo sized 3.5×4.5 cm.

3. Copy of ID card (Indonesian: KTP).

4. Copy of Passport, including pages where stamps of another countries I had visit were.

5. Copy of Family card (Indonesian: Kartu Keluarga).

6. Copy of financial provenance, for me I made a copy of my bank account last 3 months balance.

7. Copy of Student card (Indonesian: KTM).

8. Letter of invitation, from the family in Korea as my guarantor during the visit.

9. Letter of allowance from my parents, just in case it was needed because as student I was not going to depart with my parents.

After completing the documents, I went to The Korean Embassy Consular Section Office at The Plaza Office Tower 30th floor, Jalan H.M. Thamrin kav 28-30, Central Jakarta. It was located at Bundaran HI near Plaza Indonesia. There I parked my car on basement (P2), and the entrance was from Plaza Indonesia near Kitchenette. The guard checked my bag on the gate. Then I walked to the reception desk. The receptionist asked for my ID card and took a picture of my face. After that, he gave me a guest card to enter the gate strived to the elevator. There was a place where I have to tap my card before using the elevator. It showed which lift I should use and directly inputed the floor number where my destination was.

The office was quite small and it felt like a drug store. Maybe it were because of the gang-chairs and the lockets. At the front door, I asked the security how to do visa registration. He told me to take a queue number and gave me a request form (I had to take a new one because I accidentally filled an error on the one I had printed -_-). I filled the form and waited to be called. My number was called. I gave all of the documents, but I did not bring a copy of Family card. Because of that, I had to go downstairs and looked for Office 2000 store inside the mall. They said they had a copy machine. Well, it was a little bit pricy for a thousand Rupiahs per sheet, but I was in needed. After I copied the family card, I went back upstairs and took a new queue number. I waited and called once again, and this time the process went well. I paid for a single visa for IDR 288,000 (now it cost IDR 297,000 since 2013) and I got the withdrawal note. Finally, I went downstairs again and signed out at the receptionist.

It took 5 days long because of New Year’s holidays. I went for my visa withdrawal at the afternoon. Oh, that’s right. The office was opened from 9AM to 12PM for visa registration and 2PM until 4:30PM for visa withdrawal. I brought my withdrawal note to the locket, and then I sit on the gang-chairs, waited to be called. Just a moment my name was called. It went quicker than I thought. I checked again for my visa just to make sure everything written correctly. Sooooo, this is my first visa! 😀

20130105-173831.jpg

The next thing I need to do now is making a plan for Seoul on winter. Any recommendation?

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 5, 2013 in Travel